Research

The serious individual and societal consequences of mental illnesses are the starting point and their sustainable influence the central goal of the German Centre for Mental Health (DZPG). With the DZPG, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) has established another health centre which, with its focus on translational health research, will ensure that innovative prevention, diagnosis and therapy methods for mental illnesses are generated and promptly translated into standard care. In addition, the DZPG will develop solutions for unacceptable social inequalities in the care of people with mental illness.

To close these gaps in care, the DZPG will launch an ambitious translational research programme that will focus on promoting mental health and resilience, increase societal awareness of mental illness and positively impact the burden of mental illness across all age groups over the next 15 years.

The overarching goals of the emerging German Centre for Mental Health (DZPG) are also decisive for the institutions at the MUC-AUX site. A special feature at our location in this context is the strong bidirectional, translational orientation, which is created by networking excellent working groups in the areas of basic research and clinical research.

The focus of the MUC-AUX site is on the following projects MUC1 - MUC7

Investigation of the significance of early traumatic experiences for the development, phenotype and course of mental illnesses and the development of new individualised and disorder-specific interventions (MUC 1),

Characterise neuroimmunological processes at the transition between health and mental disorder across the lifespan (MUC 2),

Development of population-based, biopsychosocial aetiology and risk models on the basis of multidimensional, individual course data (MUC 3, main topic of FLII and networking project to the DZKJ),

Development of stepped care models for initiating and scheduling therapies (MUC 4),

Investigation of pregnancy and birth cohorts and the establishment of model systems to investigate the impact of prenatal risk factors on brain development, physiology and behaviour (MUC 5),

Investigation of long-term outcomes of treatment with non-invasive brain stimulation with treatment initiation in adolescence and young adulthood (MUC 6),

Establishing evidence-based psychiatry and developing a long-term project to reduce stigma and social exclusion in mental illness (MUC 7).

Forschung

Die schwerwiegenden individuellen und gesamtgesellschaftlichen Folgen psychischer Erkrankungen sind Ausgangspunkt, und deren nachhaltige Beeinflussung das zentrale Ziel des Deutschen Zentrums für Psychische Gesundheit (DZPG). Mit dem DZPG hat das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) ein weiteres Gesundheitszentrum etabliert, das mit seinem Fokus auf translationale Gesundheitsforschung sicherstellen wird, dass innovative Präventions-, Diagnose- und Therapieverfahren für psychische Erkrankungen generiert und zeitnah in die Regelversorgung übersetzt werden. Darüber hinaus wird das DZPG Lösungen für inakzeptable gesellschaftliche Ungleichheiten in der Versorgung von Menschen mit psychischen Erkrankungen erarbeiten.

Um diese Versorgungslücken zu schließen, wird das DZPG ein ambitioniertes translationales Forschungsprogramm auflegen, das die Förderung von psychischer Gesundheit und Resilienz in den Mittelpunkt stellen, die gesellschaftliche Wahrnehmung psychischer Erkrankungen steigern und die durch psychische Erkrankungen verursachten Belastungen über alle Altersgruppen in den nächsten 15 Jahren positiv beeinflussen wird.

Die übergreifenden Ziele des entstehenden Deutschen Zentrums für Psychische Gesundheit (DZPG) sind auch für die Institutionen am Standort MUC-AUX maßgeblich. Eine Besonderheit an unserem Standort ist in diesem Zusammenhang die starke bidirektionale, translationale Orientierung, die durch die Vernetzung von exzellenten Arbeitsgruppen in den Bereichen der Grundlagenforschung und klinischen Forschung entsteht.
 

Die Schwerpunkte des Standortes MUC-AUX liegen auf folgenden Projekten MUC1 - MUC7

Untersuchung der Bedeutung früher traumatischer Erfahrungen für Entstehung, Phänotyp und Verlauf psychischer Erkrankungen und die Entwicklung neuer individualisierter und störungsspezifischer Interventionen (MUC 1),

Charakterisierung neuroimmunologischer Prozesse am Übergang zwischen Gesundheit und psychischer Störung über die gesamte Lebensspanne (MUC 2),

Entwicklung populationsbasierter, biopsychosozialer Ätiologie- und Risikomodelle auf der Basis von multidimensionalen, individuellen Verlaufsdaten (MUC 3, Schwerpunktthema von FLII und Vernetzungsprojekt zum DZKJ),

Entwicklung von Stepped Care Modellen zur Initiierung und Terminierung von Therapien (MUC 4),

Untersuchung von Schwangerschafts- und Geburtskohorten sowie die Etablierung von Modellsystemen zur Untersuchung der Auswirkung von pränatalen Risikofaktoren auf die Gehirnentwicklung, Physiologie und Verhalten (MUC 5),

Untersuchung von Langzeitverläufen bei Behandlung mit nichtinvasiver Hirnstimulation mit Behandlungsbeginn in der Adoleszenz und im jungen Erwachsenenalter (MUC 6),

Etablierung evidenzbasierter Psychiatrie und Entwicklung eines Langzeitprojektes zur Reduktion von Stigma und sozialem Ausschluss bei psychischen Erkrankungen (MUC 7).